Hakuhodo Brush Review (S100 series) – Japan website online purchase review

I eventually got around to asking a friend who works in Japan to help get me 3 brushes from Hakuhodo Japan website instead of shipping it in from the US website.  A lot of my packages have been held up lately.  So I decided to lay off online shopping for a while.

I bought the S102Bk Finishing Brush, S134Bk and S138Bk Eye Shadow Brush.  Due to exchange advantage, the damage was only $230 for 3 very high quality brushes.

hakuhodo handles

The S100 range has the same brush heads of the Vermillion Brush series with 24k gold plated brass ferrules except that it uses glossy black wooden handles.  Each handle has Hakuhodo printed into them.  When you look on the US website, you can’t find the S100 range there.  They do however have the basic range (B100 series).  It seems the S100 range is only available from the Japan website.hakuhodo box

The packaging is not only adequate.  It’s elegant!  Check out the box above.  The package also comes with a instruction booklet (in Japanese of course!) that tells you how to use each brush properly and their respective functions.  Each brush is sealed in plastic and then all three brushes were sealed into another layer of plastic backed with a gold-coloured hard cardboard.  These are wrapped in paper within the box and the silver box itself was wrapped in pretty wrapping paper.  On top of all of that, the wrapped up box was put into a purple hard board envelope! That’s a lot of thought put into wrapping these babies.  It’s a bit wasteful I guess so I kept all of the wrapping to be recycled!hakuhodo brush

After trying these out, I have to say these are a cut above the Chikuhodo ones I tried at Takashimaya.  I’ve never used anything like these.  They are so soft.  Never felt anything like that on my skin.  They are so perfect!  They are a worthy investment and I don’t think you’ll regret getting these.

If you want more information on this series, you’ll have to look up the Japanese website here: http://en.hakuho-do.co.jp/user_data/shopping_kesho_series.php

Do you have any Hakuhodo brushes?  What are your favourite brushes? 🙂

