Long Last Lipstick Smackdown: Stila Stay All Day versus Make Up Forever Aqua Rouge

After reading a lot of reviews online, I’ve shortlisted a few brands of long lasting lipsticks which are worth looking further into.  These are:

1) Kat Von D Everlasting Love Liquid Lipstick

2) Revlon Ultimate Liquid Lipstick

3) Stila Stay All Day Liquid Lipstick

4) Makeup Forever Aqua Rouge

5) Hourglass Opaque Rouge Liquid Lipstick

For now though, I’ll be subjecting two brands to very unfair tests…. unfair in the sense that you probably would not expect your lipstick to outlast the oils in a typical Chinese dinner.  But I will be subjecting them to such.lipstick survivor smackdown

Stila Stay All Day costs $32 in Sephora Singapore and Makeup Forever Aqua Rouge costs $40.  I decided to road test on my hand first to see if they really held up to their reputation.  So I swatched as many colours as I could of either brand on one hand and subjected them to very abusive tests.Lipstick Survivor

After waiting for them to dry out completely, I ran them under water and both held out perfectly.  Then I rubbed both aggressively with the palm of my hand.  Stila Stay All Day, with the more rubbery texture smudged pretty badly as you can see below.  But because both still retained most of the colour, I would say both generally still passed the test.Lipstick Survivor - rub test

The following test was the most unfair.  I put some soya sauce and Chinese cooking oil over all the swatches and gave them all a good rub followed by a good scrubbing with Baby Wipe.  After that I dunked Estee Lauder’s Gentle Eye Makeup Remover on them.  As you can see below, Stila Stay All Day disappeared almost without a trace but some colours of MUFE was still there!Lipstick Survivor - eye makeup remover test

The only thing I had which removed MOST of the MUFE (there were still little dabs of colour around) was my Bobbi Brown Instant Long Wear Makeup Remover, something which I don’t even normally use for my daily makeup:bobbi brown makeup remover

That doesn’t mean I’ll be running off to get the MUFE Aqua Rouge however.  The MUFE costs only US$24 on Sephora online US but costs a whopping SGD$40 here.  I’m not sure I can justify paying such a huge difference.  I’ll be checking out Hourglass and Revlon soon.

What was your experience with Stila Stay All Day and MUFE?  Which in your opinion is the longest lasting lipstick?

